Meet Melinda Dolan, Library Systems Coordinator & Reference Librarian

Who are you?
I am the “Library Systems Coordinator / Reference Librarian.”  It’s a bit of a mouthful so I sometimes shorten it to Systems Librarian but I particularly love working as a Reference Librarian.Melinda

What is your role in the library?
I get to tinker with Millenium, the computer software that runs the Library catalog (“Biblion”) as well the circulation, acquisitions and cataloging modules.  I also research and implement various library databases and software products, such as the chat, text, email a librarian product. I’m really excited about the new (starting December 3rd!) proxy software that will replace Citrix for off-campus access to our e-resources.  The most fun part of my job, though, is helping students with research questions at the Reference Desk.

What are your interests or hobbies?
I have an interest in early 19th century American artists (Fitz Henry Lane being my favorite), Islamic carpets, and history in general.  Hobbies include knitting, gardening, reading and assisting my daughter in the care and maintenance of 2 Nigerian Dwarf goats, Sherlock and Noelle.

Any fun facts?
I was the first exchange student in my high school – I spent my junior year in Denmark.

Favorite book?
Bryson’s Looking at the Overlooked for non-fiction and The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas for fiction.

Favorite movie?
Up

Favorite sport?
Tennis

Favorite food?
Mixed nuts