Meet Drew Gatto, Music & Reference Librarian

drew120Who are you? 
I am Drew Gatto, Music and Reference Librarian, Scorpio, Italian, Irish and English by heritage, a New Yorker by birth, a New Englander by choice.

What is your role in the library?
I am privileged to have three distinct roles in the library. As a music librarian, I am responsible for managing the Academy’s sheet music collection, most of which is housed in the Music Department, and for overseeing the school’s diverse collection of music materials – books, CDs, DVDs and more. I am also a reference librarian in the Academy Library, which means that I answer plenty of questions related to other academic subjects as well. Finally, I serve as Head Librarian during Summer School, which offers me the opportunity to be at the center of the Library’s operations during one of its busiest times of year.

What are your interests or hobbies? 
A few years ago, I discovered yoga as a therapeutic tool to heal my aching back, but I’ve grown to love it for much more than its physical benefits. I also spend as much time at the piano as I can, and I enjoy producing a weekly radio program that features the Library’s CD collection. Best of all, I like spending time with my wife and infant son. They wear me out, in a very good way!

Any fun facts?
During the 1990s, when I was in college, I played keyboards in a heavy metal band called “J. Willis Pratt & We’re Bionic.” I appeared on two of the group’s albums, and they are still together and performing regularly throughout the Northeast.

Favorite book?
Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh. Not only is this novel a great coming-of-age story, but it also deals brilliantly with how humans confront competing forces in their day-to-day lives. It had a tremendous effect on me when I first read it, and I enjoy it more and more with each re-read.

Favorite movie?
I have two favorites: on the serious side, there is The Godfather, Parts 1 and 2, technically two separate movies but which I consider a unified family saga; and the Will Ferrell movie Elf for pure laughs.

Favorite sport? 
Does “trashcan basketball” count as a sport?

Favorite food? 
Indian is my favorite cuisine; its spices and sauces make it a joy to eat, and I like the fact that it offers so many tasty vegetarian dishes.  My favorite is “vegetable korma,” a medley of starchy, sweet vegetables simmered in a light cream sauce.