The Library’s 2017 Summer Concert Series: A Chamber Music Lover’s Delight

The Library is pleased to announce the dates for its 2017 Summer Concert Series, which will be held on five consecutive Wednesday evenings beginning on July 5. All concerts will be held in the Library’s Rockefeller Hall at 7pm, and they are free and open to the public.

Halcyon Music Festival Artistic Director Heng-Jin Park (photo by Kate Lemmon)

The series will open with an encore performance by the Halcyon Music Festival, under the leadership of Artistic Director Heng-Jin Park, on July 5. The group will perform duos and trios for a combination of strings and piano by composers Zoltán Kodály, César Franck and Johannes Brahms. The series continues on July 12 with a program of four-hand piano works featuring P.E.A. piano faculty members Barbara O’Brien and Radmila Repczynski. On July 19, the Library will host the Faculty Jazz Quintet featuring a special guest, vocalist Donna Byrne. Brass lovers will enjoy the concert scheduled for July 26, which will feature classical, jazz and popular tunes performed by different combinations of brass instruments. The series will close on August 2 with a horn trio featuring P.E.A. violin instructor Deborah Boykan.

Inquiries about the Library’s Summer Concert Series may be directed to Drew Gatto by phone at (603)777-3308, or by email at Please join us in the Library this summer for a diverse program of small-group chamber music, presented in air-conditioned comfort!

Jazz vocalist Donna Byrne.

Class of 2017 Senior Bookmarks

Members of Phillips Exeter Academy’s Class of 2017 contributed a total of eighty-three different bookmarks to the Class of 1945 Library’s annual Senior Bookmark program.  The Library has continued to see increased participation over the twenty-four years of the program with this year’s 83 bookmarks being the largest collection ever.

Each spring, interested seniors contribute a short list of books they’d recommend others to read. This year’s recommendations span a wide variety of genres and literary time periods.

The printed bookmarks are now on display in Rockefeller Hall as is a corresponding exhibit of seniors’ recommended reading curated by Eileen Cusick and Tad Nishimura.

Bennett Fellow Walter B. Thompson

Please join us on Wednesday May 24th at 7 pm for a reading by 2016-2017 George Bennett Fellow, Walter B. Thompson.

Mr. Thompson’s fiction has appeared in The Writing DisorderCarolina QuarterlySlush Pile Magazine, and elsewhere, and is forthcoming in American Short Fiction.  While at Exeter he has been at work on a novel, tentatively titled Anchorage.

The George Bennett Fellowship, endowed by Elias B. M. Kulukundis ’55, honors Academy English instructor George Bennett by awarding a one-year fellowship to an author of outstanding promise who has not yet published a book.

The reading will take in Rockefeller Hall at the Class of 1945 Library. The event is free and open to the public.

Children’s Book Week visits

Last week seniors in Becky Moore’s Children Literature classes celebrated Children’s Book Week by inviting children from the Harris Family Center for a story time and activity at the library.  Moore’s D format class met with Christine Peluso’s kindergartners on Tuesday and Jill Devine’s preschoolers visited with the E format class on Wednesday.  The seniors began the visit by reading the story The Perfect Square and then paired off with the younger children for a shape hunt in Rockefeller Hall and an activity using mini-books they designed.

It was a treat to watch the older students use the architecture of our Louis Kahn building as a means to help the children identify that can be discovered in our everyday surroundings.  Both groups began and ended their visit around the Harkness table in Rockefeller Hall where they looked up, down, and all around to find the circles, triangles, squares, rectangles, and trapezoids in Louis Kahn’s design.

Thank you to teachers Becky Moore, Christine Peluso, Jill Devine, Linda Felch, Theresa Hall, and Kerry Bradshaw and to the seniors in ENG 578 Children’s Literature:   Genesis Contreras, Nick Correia, Julia Friberg, Pan Menasuta, Ryan Moore, Chudi Obiofuma, Nine Prasertsup, Qiqi Qi, Rockefeller Qin, Eloise Shields, Majestic Terhune, Sydney Yoon, Jessica Zhao, Kat Cucullo, Aili Desai, Kelsey Detels, Hannah Gustafson, Jada Huang, Emma Ibbotson, Emily LaRovere, Sammy Merrill, Daria Moody, Kyland Narcisse, Sanjana Rana, and Kristina Torres.

2017 Lamont Younger Poets Reading with Visiting Poet Meg Day

On Tuesday May 9th at 7pm the Class of 1945 Library will host the 2017 Lamont Younger Poets reading with visiting poet Meg Day.

The recipients of the 2017 Lamont Younger Poets Prize are Bella Alvarez ’19, Miles Mikofsky ’19, Ayush Noori ’20, and Mai Hoang ’20. The Lamont Younger Poets Prize honors poems of exceptional promise written by preps and lowers at Phillips Exeter Academy. The prize commemorates the dedication of English instructor Rex McGuinn to student poetry at Exeter, particularly his encouragement of student poets at the ninth and tenth grade levels.

Meg Day, award winning poet, activist, and author will present her work in conjunction with the students’ reading. Day is author of Last Psalm at Sea Level and two chapbooks When All You Have Is a Hammer and We Can’t Read This. Day is currently an Assistant Professor of English & Creative Writing at Franklin & Marshall College in Pennsylvania.

The event will be held in Rockefeller Hall at the Class of 1945 Library.

PEA Bids Farewell to a Beloved Tree

This week the Phillips Exeter community and the Class of 1945 Library bid farewell to the beloved Beech tree that has resided on the Library Lawn for more than a century. Next week a new Beech tree is set to arrive and will be planted in its place.

An exhibit honoring the tree is now on display in the Library’s front entrance. The exhibit was curated by the Library’s Head of Archives and Special Collections, Peter Nelson.

School Library Month READ Posters

To help us celebrate School Library Month this April, our Library Proctors posed for our annual READ posters, modeled after the READ posters created by the National Library Association.

Photo caption: (left to right, seated): Veronica Galimberti, Annie Yanofsky, Daria Moody, Bella Weissman, Liam Breen. (left to right, back row): Livi Liponis, Grace Pratt, Sydney McKiernan, Evelynn Ouellette. Not pictured: Camden Corso and Tavo Santos.