2013 Bennett Fellow Reading in the Library

Molly Bashaw, Bennett Fellow
Molly Bashaw, Bennett Fellow

Phillips Exeter Academy’s 2013 Bennett Fellow, Molly Bashaw, will perform a reading of her work on May 7th in the Library’s Periodicals Room at 7pm.

Molly Bashaw grew up on small farms in Massachusetts and Upstate New York. She holds degrees in Music Performance from the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY, and the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik in Trossingen, Germany, in addition to a degree in English from the University of Rochester. For the last twelve years she has been living and working as a freelance bass-trombonist in Germany. Her poetry has appeared recently in Beloit Poetry Journal, and Crazyhorse, where it was awarded the 2011 Lynda Hull Memorial Award. Molly will be attending the Breadloaf Writer’s Conference in August on a work-study scholarship.  Please join us to hear her perform her work!


Spring 2011 Lamont Poet Revealed

Poet Laureate Kay Ryan (Library of Congress/Abby Brack photo)

Kay Ryan, the 2008-2010 U.S. Poet Laureate, will be the Spring 2011 Lamont Poet. She’ll be on campus on Wednesday, April 27th to give a reading in the Assembly Hall at 7:30pm. The event will be free and open to the public.

The following bio was taken from the Library of Congress website devoted to Poet Laureates:

Kay Ryan was born in 1945 in San Jose, California, and grew up in the San Joaquin Valley and the Mojave Desert. For more than 30 years, she taught remedial English at the College of Marin in Kentfield, California. Ryan’s poems are known for their brevity, wit, and frequent use of slant and internal rhymes.

You can read the full entry here.

2010 Lamont Poet Comes to Campus

Hass's most recent book of poetry

Robert Hass, the 2010 Lamont Poet, will come to Phillips Exeter on November 4th for a free and open to the public reading at 7:30pm in the Assembly Hall. Hass, who was the 1995-1997 U.S. Poet Laureate, as well as a National Book Award winner and recipient of the Pulitzer Prize, is known for much more than just his poetry. Hass has also been a crusader for American literacy as well as a champion of environmental causes,  which won him the 1997 Educator of the Year by the North American Association on Environmental Education.

The Library of Congress offers an online resource guide to Hass, where you can find links to more information about the poet, including audio and video excerpts.

You can learn more about the Lamont Poetry Program here.