2010 Lamont Poet, W.S. Merwin, named the new U.S. Poet Laureate

Just two months after giving a reading at the Academy as part of the Lamont Poetry series, W.S. Merwin was named Poet Laureate of the United States. You can read the official Library of Congress press release here, and a recently published New York Times article about  Merwin here.

To read a handwritten poem by Merwin, as well as those of the other Lamont Poets, please see the Library’s special online exhibit.

The new U.S. Poet Laureate, W.S. Merwin (photo by Brian Crowley)

Fall 2010 Lamont Poet Selected

Poet Robert L. Hass

The Lamont Poetry Committee has just announced that Robert L. Hass will be next fall’s Lamont Poet. Hass is an American poet who served as Poet Laureate of the United States from 1995 to 1997. He was awarded both the 2007 National Book Award and the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for “Time and Materials.” He’s scheduled to be on campus November 4th-5th for a reading that will be open to the public, and to meet with with students.

The 2009-20010 Lamont Poetry Committee. Back row, left to right: Todd Hearon, Brooks Moriarity, Matt Miller. Front row, left to right: Jane Cadwell, Jackie Thomas, Eimer Page, Tanya Waterman, and Ralph Sneeden.

Deadline Looms for Aspiring Poets

The 2009 Lamont Younger Poets Prize winners

Friday, April 16th, will be the last day that Academy students’ submissions for the Lamont Younger Poets Prize will be accepted. 

The prize commemorates the dedication of English instructor Rex McGuinn to student poetry at Exeter – particularly his encouragement of student poets at the ninth- and tenth-grade levels. In such a spirit, the Lamont Younger Poets Prize seeks to recognize promise as well as achievement in the early years of a student’s developing craft. 

Up to four Prize winners will be selected and invited to read their poems at the Academy Library in the Lamont Poetry Room, with a reception to follow. Submissions should be addressed to Todd Hearon, Department of English. Poems should include the author’s name and grade level on the back page; only one poem may be submitted per student. There is no restriction as to form or subject; the length of the poem, however, should not exceed 100 lines. The deadline for submissions in 2010 will be Friday, April 16. 

You can find out more on Rex McGuinn, and see a list of past winners here.